Voto Latino Statement on Donald Trump’s Guilty Verdict in New York - Voto Latino

Voto Latino Statement on Donald Trump’s Guilty Verdict in New York

May 30, 2024
Contact: Diana Castaneda
VP of Communications
[email protected]


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, in response to the New York jury verdict against twice-impeached former President Donald Trump, Voto Latino Co-Founder and President María Teresa Kumar released the following statement:

“The New York Court’s guilty verdict on all 34 counts proves that Donald Trump cannot be trusted to lead our country and to make decisions that impact the lives of Americans. One of the greatest virtues of living in a nation governed by laws is that no one is above the law ⁠— not even a twice-impeached former President of the United States. The jury’s verdict on Trump’s criminality makes one thing explicitly clear: Trump represents a danger to our democracy,” said Voto Latino Co-Founder and President María Teresa Kumar. “And Trump’s hush-money crime adds to the long list of his criminal behavior, which includes inciting the assault on the U.S. Capitol to overturn the results of the 2020 presidential elections, standing with violent insurrectionists, and spreading lies about his loss by more than 7 million votes.

“We defeated Donald Trump in 2020, and if Republicans are foolish enough to undermine the integrity of the judicial system and nominate him, we’ll do it again. Voto Latino will continue registering, mobilizing, and educating voters to empower our community and create a more robust and inclusive democracy.”



Voto Latino is a grassroots political organization focused on educating and empowering a new generation of Latino voters, as well as creating a more robust and inclusive democracy. Since its founding, Voto Latino has registered over 1.4 million voters, mobilized tens of thousands of voters in the 2022 midterms, helping to defeat the so-called “red wave” and keep the Senate majority-Democrat. Voto Latino has also filed several lawsuits to defend voting rights in Texas, Arizona, and North Carolina ahead of the 2024 election.